Kress Institutional Fellowships in the History of European Art

Kress Institutional Fellowships in the History of European Art

Award Amount:$30,000 per annum

Number of Awards: 6

Deadline: November 30, 2017

Winner Announcement: March 2018

Brief Description:

The Samuel H. Kress Foundation is proud to announce the Kress History of Art: Institutional Fellowships. The programs are open to Ph.D. candidates who are U.S. citizens or individuals matriculated at an American university and nominated by their academic department.The Kress History of Art: Institutional Fellowships are intended to provide promising young art historians with the opportunity to experience just this kind of immersion.

Host Institution:

The Samuel H. Kress Foundation was established in 1929 by Kress, who was founder and president of the eponymous Samuel H. Kress Foundation. The Foundation devotes its resources to advancing the history, conservation, and enjoyment of the vast heritage of European art, architecture, and archaeology from antiquity to the early 19th century.


  • Restricted to pre-doctoral candidates in the history of art and related disciplines (such as archaeology, architecture, or classics)
  • Nominees must be U.S. citizens or individuals matriculated at an American university.
  • Dissertation research must focus on European art from antiquity to the early 19th century.
  • Candidates must be nominated by their academic department.
  • You must be a Ph.D. candidate to apply for the Fellowships, but do not have to be ABD by the application deadline date
  • Note: Each university is limited to two nominees per academic department. The nominees must be applying for different research centers.

Instructions for Applying:

To apply, the applicant can download the application through the given link:

Supporting Documents:

  • The fellowship application form cover page
  • Summary of the proposed dissertation research project Maximum length five (5) pages
  • Annotated bibliography containing works of primary concern to the proposed topic Maximum length five (5) pages
  • Descriptions of the proposed research plan, emphasizing the need to be at the institution you have selected. You may also include, if appropriate, a description of proposed extended travel within Europe. Maximum length three (3) pages.
  • A budget indicating the major anticipated expenses for the fellowship period
  • A description of the work completed on the dissertation. Maximum length one (1) page
  • A brief description of any previous research and travel experience abroad, with particular emphasis on libraries and research facilities abroad. Maximum length two (2) pages
  • A list of languages in which you are proficient and to what extent (conversational, reading, writing; elementary, intermediate, fluent)
  • A list of all other grants for which you are applying including the name of the award, the amount for which you are applying and the time period and aspect of your project that this award would cover.
  • A copy of your current curriculum vitae
  • An official, sealed transcript from the university where you received your MA
  • Three (3) letters of evaluation, of which one (1) must be from the Chairperson of the academic department nominating you. Letters must be sealed and signed across the flap and must be returned to you for submission with your application package.
  • The email address that should be used to acknowledge receipt of the application.

Submitting Details:

  • One complete packet of materials should be sent to your chosen European host institution. (Page no 5 & 6 at application pdf)
  • One packet (One copy of all the above materials) should be sent to the Kress Foundation: Samuel H. Kress Foundation 174 East 80th Street New York, NY 10075
  • Note: If you are applying to the fellowship in London, jointly administered by the Courtauld Institute of Art and the Warburg Institute, you must submit one complete application to the Courtauld Institute, another to the Warburg Institute and a third copy to the Kress Foundation.

Award Description:

The fellowship award is $30,000 per annum. Six pre-doctoral Kress Institutional Fellowships in the History of European Art will be awarded each year. Each fellowship provides for a two-year research appointment hosted by one of the following European art history research centers:

  • Florence KunsthistorischesInstitut / Institute for Art History
  • Leiden Leiden University Centre for the Arts in Society (LUCAS)
  • London Courtauld Institute of Art & Warburg Institute of Art (jointly administered)
  • Munich ZentralinstitutfürKunstgeschichte / Central Institute for Art History
  • Paris Institut national d’histoire de l’art (INHA) / National Institute for the History of Art
  • Rome Bibliotheca Hertziana

Detailed Information Link:

Contact Information:

If you have any question about application, contact: StijnBussels: